Region: Saaremaa   Light ordinates: 57.80135 N, 23.26015 E
Light running: night   Light characteristics: Fl W 4s
Light height from ground: 40m   Light height from sea: 65m
Light visibility: 11M   Built, y:  

 

The first mention of a beacon on the island of Ruhnu in the Gulf of Riga dates from 1676.

The current prefabricated boilerplate lighthouse was purchased from a French company Forges et Chantiers de la Mediterranee in 1875.

According to a legend, the author of the fascinating design of the Ruhnu lighthouse is Gustave Eiffel himself, although there is no actual proof.

The boilerplate cylinder tower is supported by four counterforts.

The lantern and the sentry room were destroyed by German troops in 1918 and the lighthouse was reconstructed in 1937.

Most of the outbuildings have survived to this day and the whole lighthouse ensemble is listed as an architectural monument.

 

 

Information: Estonian Lighthouse Society www.etts.ee

 


See also:  The island of Ruhnu,  Kiipsaare majakas,  Sõrve lighthouse,  Laidunina daymark,  Kaavi lighthouse,  Anseküla lighthouse.